Clausen Books      Bibliography Page     Home
Colorado Springs Author Bibliographies

 by Douglas Clausen
the works of  Frank Waters


Historian, Novelist, and Colorado Springs Native Son.
born: Colorado Springs, Colorado, July 25th 1902
died:  Arroyo Seco, New Mexico, June 3, 1995


Fever Pitch.  NY: Liveright, 1930.

The Wild Earth's Nobility.  NY: LIveright, 1935.

Below Grass Roots. NY: Liveright, 1937.

The Dust Within The Rock. NY: Liveright, 1940.

People of The Valley.  NY/Toronto: Farrar & Rinehart, 1941.

River Lady (with Houston Branch).  NY/Toronto, Farrar & Rinehart, 1942.

The Man Who Killed The Deer. NY/Toronto, Farrar & Rinehart, 1942.

The Yogi of Cockroach Court. NY/Toronto: Rinehart, 1947.

Diamond Head (with Houston Branch). NY: Farrar, Straus, 1948.

The Woman At Otowi Crossing. Denver: Alan Swallow, 1966. Revised Edition, Athens/London: Swallow/ Ohio Univ. Press, 1987.

Pike's Peak. (revised edition of The Wild Earth's Nobility, Below Grass Roots, and The Dust Within The Rock - in one volume.) Chicago: Sage/Swallow Press, 1971. hardcover.

Flight From Fiesta. Santa Fe: Rydal, 1986;  Athens/Chicago: Swallow/Ohio Univ. Press, 1987.


Midas of the Rockies: The Story of Stratton and Cripple Creek. NY: Covici-Friede, 1937.

The Colorado. NY/Toronto: Rinehart, 1946.  Rivers of America series. republished 1974 with a new preface by the author.  NY: Holt, Rinehart & Winston.

Masked Gods: Navaho and Pueblo Ceremonialism. Albuquerque: Univ. of New Mexico Press, 1950.

The Earp Brothers of Tombstone: The Story of Mrs. Virgil Earp. NY: Potter, 1960.

Robert Gilruth.  Chicago: Encycl. Britannica, 1963. (Juvenile)

Book of The Hopi.  NY: Viking, 1963.

Leon Gaspard. Flagstaff: Northland, 1964.  revised ed., Santa Fe/Flagstaff: Fenn Galleries / Northland, 1981.

Mysticism and Witchcraft. Fort Collins: Colorado State Univ., 1966.

Pumpkin Seed Point. Chicago: Sage Books/Swallow, 1969.

To Possess The Land: A Biography of Arthur Rockford Manby.  Chicago: Sage Books/Swallow, 1974.

Mexico Mystique: The Coming Sixth World of Consciousness. Chicago: Sage Books/Swallow, 1975.

Mountain Dialogues. Athens: Sage/Swallow, 1981.

updated: 2/19/07.
Send all corrections and suggestions to
| Home  |  Bibliography Page  |